a poem written in the back of a book

it’s been said that a true revolutionary is guided by immense feelings of love

that it’s impossible to think of a genuine revolutionary lacking this quality


this is what i strive for

to be guided by love

as effortlessly as the branches bend with every passing breeze

to heal

holistically

with my sisters

and myself

to be a true revolutionary

without the dogmatic rhetoric

the patriarchy

the competition and insecurities

mashed into the folds of our skin by this life

soaking up our very essence of living

leaving nothing but survival tactics

this is what i strive for

to be a true revolutionary

so in love with life and the people

with the ancestors and my sisters

the salt of the earth fresh on my palette

i can taste the liberation swimming through my arteries and ventricles

yearning to be unleashed

as necessary as breath

inhale…exhale…go

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment